PDA

View Full Version : Ideas for Silly Video Game Competition

Dairun Cates
2007-09-11, 07:02 PM
Okay. Big shock here, but I'm actually an officer for a fairly sizable anime club on my campus. We have a pool party every year, and we usually do a gaming tournament or two for the party.

Welll, to make a long story short. We decided that the typical Smash Bros/DDR/Guitar Hero tournaments were, well, kinda dumb. There's always one person who is amazing at one of these games and no one else will stand a chance. It's essentially just an informal prize giveaway for being good at a game.

So, last year we changed things up. We decided that we'd make a game tournament that no one could be decently practiced enough in to make a large enough impact to be a shoe-in. What was the competition? Co-op Katamari timed run on the racetrack level. Largest Katamari wins. Winners each get a prize. No one was allowed to practice. Considering that almost no one had played co-op and that the racetrack level was fast and nearly impossible to play without prior knowledge, it became an exercise in figuring out the actual RULES of the game faster than anyone else. As such, the team that won actually had never played Katamari. It was a hoot watching people crash into things. Everyone had fun, and it's become a memorable event in our club history.

Well, it's up to me to create the next Katamari Co-op tournament. I want something just as wacky and silly. I have a PS2 and a Wii and some older consoles if I have to. I can get access to a 360 as well, but I'd prefer not to rely on it. I have access to the Virtual Console line-up. I was thinking of possibly doing Original Ninja Gaiden with the controllers upside down or a few other ideas with some of the virtual console games, but I wanted to know what everyone else thought.