PDA

View Full Version : Retrogaming in 3.5 for Powergaming fun?

Chaosticket
2018-07-27, 10:33 PM
I know there is a massive divide between people who think Roleplaying is far more important than Gaming. Personally I am not good at Roleplaying well with any new people or groups. It takes me time to meet people, get to know them, and make a character. Its especially problematic to make a character that is an interesting personality but also fits power goals so I feel Im making mistakes. My first thoughts in new games is about the Gameplay, not the Roleplay. Because of that Im wondering if I should try out Dungeons and Dragon 3.5?

I have more experience in Pathfinder and both 2nd and 5th edition Dungeons and Dragons. A major difference between the editions is the relative potential power from character builds. In 3.5 its possible to do things the other editions just dont allow or have nerfed so badly its not worth trying.

Im wondering if 3.5 is worth trying out just for the Powergaming potential? Ive heard and looked up interesting ideas, especially Multiclassing and Prestige Classes. That would keep things interesting enough to try meeting random strangers.

Fizban
2018-07-28, 01:50 AM
Personally I don't think any game should be chosen for specific powergaming reasons. You can choose a game because it has lots of options to play around with, but if your specific goal is to throw off the expected balance of the game, then it sounds to me like you're not there to play the game.