PDA

View Full Version : Control/Buff Build to teach Players

Orc_Lord
2018-07-31, 06:27 PM
Tl:tr Need a good control/buff build to show newish players a different kind of play

I have been DMing my core group for about two years. Recently one of them felt comfortable enough to start running a game.

My core group where all introduced to D&D by me, I have been playing for 20 years now. I feel like they are my kids where I nurtured and helped them grow as role-players. Introduced them to different styles of play, exposed them to different kinds of D&D from dungeoncrawls to pure social, puzzles, exploration, tactical combat, combat with theater of the mind.

Now that I get to play I want to teach them on this side of the table as well. Let me be clear, I don't want to backseat DM.

Instead I want to show them see other aspects of play.

Some stuff I would like
1. Teach them that you don't have to always be doing damage to contribute to combat
2. Teach them that sometimes players can be an evil character.. without being a murder hobo (I like LE alignment for this)
3. Teach them about multiclass and what to look for when combining classes
4. Will have 6-8 encounters a day, so I don't want to twirl my thumbs for a lot of them

Also I don't want to steal the spotlight. Being optimized is fine but not munchkin level. They really don't give the game enough thought sometime and I feel like some of them have not realized how tweaking your character can be a different kind of fun.

So, now that I have given my long introduction comes the question.

What is a good build for will kind of satisfy the list above (the alignment of LE is not mandatory)?

I am thinking about a Life Cleric 1/Druid maybe a Sorlock focusing on EB and control spells...

I have a bunch of background ideas so no matter the build I probably have a backstory to match it.

Some ideas would be nice.

Talionis
2018-07-31, 07:29 PM