PDA

View Full Version : DM Help How much of a problem is a large group?

Pinjata
2018-08-04, 06:09 AM
I'm currently DM-ing for a group of six well adjusted, cool headed people. When we finish current campaign, I'm thinking of inviting another three. All three are well tested, experienced players. I have about 10 years of experience as a DM and I think such a group might be interesting - and even fun.

What can you tell me on this?

thanks

DeTess
2018-08-04, 06:31 AM
Combat will slow down, and there'll be longer periods in which someone has to wait, increasing the risk of people getting distracted.

Discussions and plan-making will take longer, and people's overall contribution will decrease.

Planning the games in such a way that everyone can attend might become more difficult.

Yora
2018-08-04, 06:33 AM
I think it depends very much on the campaign and especially the system. With a system that has players regularly spend a minute or three on every combat turn, having 10 players will be a complete nightmare.

As a rule of thumb, I'd say the more players you have, the less dice you want to roll. Also characters not having a lot of different combat options to chose from (and contemplate each of them on every combat turn) helps a lot.