PDA

View Full Version : Optimization 5e A new player to 5e need help with build a buffer bard.

BloodSnake'sCha
2018-08-06, 12:11 AM
Hello guys :)

I am new to 5e(I was playing and DMing 3.5 for a few years).

I want to join a group of friends in 5e game.

For this game I need a PC at levels 1,3 and 5(same one).

I have read a little and I want to make a bard and focus on buffing my party members.

The race I want to play is Yuan-ti Pureblood.

She will be CN or NE base on the party and DM restrictions.

The rules for book is core+1.

We use point buy:
8 str 14 dex 12 con 14 int 10 wis 17 cha with the race bonuses.

I have no idea what will be good for spells.

I want to use poison and buffs.

The PC look at the party will be something like:

They are my toys and no one is allowed to tuch them.

I will make those low life closer to the strength of my race with my magic and music.

I will like to get advices on how to use my buffs, spell knowed to choose from and how to successfully use poison in my build (I was thinking on something like a trowing knifes or a dagger+crossbow).

Of course I will take any advice you will want to give to a player new to 5e.

nickl_2000
2018-08-06, 07:02 AM
Well, you are playing a Yuan-Ti, so that covers your poison damage (with the free charisma based poison spray cantrip), and it takes care of you +1 book. Applying poison to a weapon will be much harder, it's very expensive and not all that effective in 5e. So, I would stick with the spells if you can.

So you now have the choice of spells and bardic college.

Cantrips: You get 2 + poison spray.
-Poison Spray covers you primary damage dealer cantrip.
-Vicious Mockery provides a back up damage source, and a good debuff in giving opponents disadvantage
-The last cantrip is up to you. Some solid choices would be Minor Illusion, Prestidigitation, or Mage Hand

1st level spells for buff/debuff
-Sleep. This spell just plain rocks at early levels. It can trivialize encounters.