PDA

View Full Version : Lancer Paladin Viability

Maquise
2018-08-06, 01:03 AM
I'm somewhat new to 5e, and have a lot of experience with Pathfinder, so I'll get that out of the way from the start. What I am wondering is, how viable is it to make a mounted-combat themed paladin in 5e, and how would one go about it? At first glance, it does not seem very useful, at least, not without a little bit of DM finagling. I know that the Mounted Combat feat is good for mount survivability, but it still seems like they are very fragile for the most part.

Mellack
2018-08-06, 01:20 AM
Mounted Combatant makes the mount a lot more durable, and at 5th level paladins can cast Find Steed. That means even if your mount does die or you can't take it in somewhere, it is not too hard to get it back.

NaughtyTiger
2018-08-06, 07:50 AM
The mount is fragile, especially without mounted combatant feat.
Things that help:
warding bond (cleric or paladin-crown)
aid
false life (wiz or warlock)

my mount is wearing ring of evasion

nickl_2000
2018-08-06, 07:52 AM
The mount is fragile, especially without mounted combatant feat.
Things that help:
warding bond (cleric or paladin-crown)
aid
false life (wiz or warlock)

my mount is wearing ring of evasion

Saddle of the Caviler too.

strangebloke
2018-08-06, 09:21 AM
Okay, so I've put a lot of thought into this. Bear with me here.

First, the lance.
Pros:
It deals 2 more damage than any other 1-handed weapon if you're on a mount. It deals 1 more damage than any other reach weapon. It deal 4 more damage than the other 1-handed reach weapon.

Cons:
Disadvantage if you're hitting within five feet.

Overall, it's generally not worth using, unless you're on a mount. On a mount, it's incredibly strong. If your character is going to spend any amount of time mounted, and you were already speccing for 1-handed combat (dueling style, etc.) you should have a lance. The disadvantage seems bad, but it actually should never come up if you're on a large-sized mount.