PDA

View Full Version : It's a Pirate's life for me! Arrrrrr - Need help with a Pirate themed Campaign

Vemynal
2018-08-08, 07:26 AM
Hey yall, I've been running Adventure League for some new players for the last 7 months. We were doing the Season 1 Adventure League campaigns but they stole a pirate ship, I rolled with it, and honestly they seem much more excited to be Pirates in a D&D world than to continue the AL stuff so I've decided to 'jump ship'.

For this Sunday I've decided to have the Green Dragon attack Phlan as part of the typical campaign. But instead of rescuing the Lord Regent, I'm going to have other characters they've met rescue him and try and solicit the Crew to provide him and civilians with safe passage. I've also decided to have the main combat of the session be Cult of the Dragon forces, led by the man they stole the Pirate ship from, attempt to retake the ship.

Ideas for future sessions:
A Cult of the Dragon Assassin is hiding as one of the citizens and attempting to murder Lord Regent, or failing that the crew. The crew has a couple NPCs they've become attached to that I think I could use to keep them engaged.

There are some ghost pirates from the literal Hells that when they got their ship they ran away from instead of fighting. I figure they could return as a menace.

Other than that though I'm sorta at a loss for what to do with these characters. Any ideas/advice?

Party are all lvl 4 and consist of a:
Human Cleric of Life,
Tabaxi Arcane Trickster,
Half-Orc Barbarian,
Wood Elf Wild Sorcerer,
Wood Elf Ranger,
Forest Gnome Wizard

ImproperJustice
2018-08-08, 07:36 AM
Some possible sources of inspiration:

Green Ronin Press has a setting called Freeport that is all about seafaring and pirate type adventures.

Savage Worlds has a setting book called 40 Fathoms I think which is a pirate based campaign that you could steal ideas from.