PDA

View Full Version : Paladin with 19 INT?

bengrue
2018-08-24, 02:01 AM
So, through shenanigans my weird Paladin (in service to the Goddess of Trade, Waukeen) got weirder: now wearing a Headband of Intellect, his former dump stat of INT got pumped to 19.

(Our primary spellcasters are a Druid and a Sorcerer, and I was failing a lot of Religion checks, so the team actually voted it to me (shrug).)

Anyways, other than suddenly being +4 to History and Religion... what is there I could do that's fun with this? Are there any tangible benefits to getting to Level 6 Paladin and switching to Wizard that usually would be ignored because it'd require Too Many Attributes but suddenly I got'm?

(It's my first 5e game and... I hadn't played D&D since the 90's prior. So I'm relatively novice here.)

AttilatheYeon
2018-08-24, 02:08 AM
Go abjurer for arcane ward. Abuse the hell outa shield and absorb elements.

CTurbo
2018-08-24, 02:08 AM
That is weird for sure lol

I would not multiclass because of some magic item, but I could see possibly taking Magic Initiative: Wizard for some fun spells. A ranged attack cantrip would be good as would Green Flame Blade, and of course Find Familiar

Other than that, nah I can't really think of anything fun mechanically speaking

CTurbo
2018-08-24, 02:21 AM
Go abjurer for arcane ward. Abuse the hell outa shield and absorb elements.

Paladin 6/ Abjurer 14 would be pretty ridiculous I have to admit lol

A 2 level dip in Diviner would be fun, but I stick to not multiclassing over a magic item

Unoriginal
2018-08-24, 02:29 AM
You can't multiclass using a temporary stat boost provided by an item.

It's not a tome of stat augmentation.

Blood of Gaea
2018-08-24, 02:34 AM
Perhaps you could look into the ritual caster feat? It could be thematic if nothing else.

Note that your normal Int needs to reach the requirment.

leogobsin
2018-08-24, 03:00 AM
Note that your normal Int needs to reach the requirment.