PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder Pathfinder/Ranger Built

Rumo
2018-08-27, 01:06 AM
Hi!

I would like to discuss a character that I intend to play in the adventure path Iron Gods. In order to make my idea more understandable, I will describe its genesis.

First I wanted to play a pure Paladin, scimitar and shield. I know that 2h-weapon is stronger in pathfinder, but I have my reasons: The game master has nerfed Power Attack, in another campaign I am already playing a Falcion wielding Slayer, I like the idea to be a little bit stronger on the defense and I also like the idea to be carrying yet another enchantable item.

Then I fell upon the idea to include shield bash. Rolling more attacks is always fun, and when I learned about the possibility to send opponents flying via Shield Slam, I was in love. But this requires Two-Weapon-Fighting, which in turn requires DEX 15, which is somewhat out of reach for a character that is supposed to have DEX 10.

But if I dip in 2 levels of Ranger, I can learn this feat. What's 2 levels in the long run? Besides, a +2 Favoured Enemy bonus against constructs would really be nice, especially since many of them are not evil, and thus not subject to my Smite.

After sleeping over it, I came to yet another, more radical idea: Why stop at 2? Why not make it six levels of Ranger? +4 against constructs, a second Favoured Enemy, and Improved Two-Weapon-Fighting for yet another Shield Slam.

Only major downside (yes, of course there is a couple of minor ones) I see: In the long run, Lay on Hands will lose three dice.

Do I miss anything? Any reason why this build is not going to work the way I hope it does?

Florian
2018-08-27, 02:30 AM