PDA

View Full Version : DM Help do i attack again?

Thac0 Redeye
2018-08-31, 09:05 PM
I am a novice DM and am running Expedition to Castle Ravenloft. My players are in the Vamp lords castle searching the crypts for 3 artifacts (as per part of their tasks). they found Strahds ( the BBEG) crypt and decided to destroy the golem protector. Strahd was scrying and knew and joined that fight, as well as other vamp spawn and zombies. the fight took a lot of time and resources for the players and at the end it was just the dwarf and golem trading hits with the cleric and paladin healing the dwarf. So they are pretty tapped out and decided to rest for the rest of the night, but were going to camp in one of the vacant crypts. Strahd has the paladin dominated but no one knows yet so he has knowledge to everything they do. My players have definitely seen and fought many incorporeal undead during the campaign, so it would be very easy to send in some ghosts types to attack while resting. But do I do it?
Any advice would be greatly helpful
Thanks

XionUnborn01
2018-08-31, 09:22 PM
It depends on your campaign style. If you're playing a less serious very casual game, then probably not. Or if you do, with a fairly weak force.

If you're playing a more lethal game then it would totally make sense to attack. Maybe not go crazy for the first attack but remind them they're not in friendly territory.

GrayDeath
2018-09-01, 04:29 AM
While I would agree with Xion in normal modules, this is Ravenloft.

Of course you attack them, ideally in a sneaky, long-term corrupting way they only realize happened much later, covered by a weak yet fast attack right now to make them less suspicious ^^

Eldaran
2018-09-01, 04:43 AM
Keep in mind it's a fairly trivial DC 15 Sense Motive to know someone is dominated.

sleepyphoenixx
2018-09-01, 05:15 AM
Keep in mind it's a fairly trivial DC 15 Sense Motive to know someone is dominated.

It's only trivial if someone actually puts ranks into it or has high wis.