PDA

View Full Version : Optimization Need help deciding on barbarian vs. fighter with rolled stats

Want2mess
2018-09-15, 08:11 PM
Hi there everyone, this is my first time posting in this forum so I hope I'm in the right place to get some help!

My group and I are making new characters starting at level 7 and I'm unsure which class I should go. We rolled stats in order, so we all have pretty good stats and our DM throws difficult encounters at us regularly so I would like to be pretty well optimized.

My base stats are: 17 Strength, 15 Dexterity, 16 Constitution, 10 Intelligence, 14 Wisdom, 8 Charisma

We get a free feat at level 1 and variant human is banned, and since we are starting at a higher level we all get one uncommon magic item of our own choice, plus two magic items that our DM will create or roll for. Plus 1500 gold and any armor under plate (plate will cost 1000 of our starter gold if we want it).

There will be 5 maybe 6 players total, and so far we have a rogue, a wizard, one player is either playing a druid (spore) or a sorclock (optimized for blasting), and then one person is still undecided but based off of their stats they will most likely be a charisma caster or a dex fighter or monk (we rolled 2 sets in order and choose between them). There is potential for one more person, however they would most likely be joining after we start and would choose their character based off of what we already have in the group.

I'm pretty much trying to decide between barbarian and fighter, but I am very open to different ideas if I'm missing something.

I basically have 3 ideas: