PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice for my beginner Paladin/Hexblade

OctoHex
2018-09-19, 02:46 PM
Hi all!

I started playing D&D again after a 30 year hiatus (since AD&D 2e), gathering with a group of other dad friends.
We only get to meet up around once a month, so level progression is slow. We started at Lvl 1 in February and should finally be reaching Level 4 this week...

Being so distantly removed from the game, I opted to start pretty simple with a Paladin. I had not read any of the myriad of optimization guides out there at the time, so I really just designed the character on fluff. Not saying that's bad - there are just a few things I wasn't aware of that could have made things a little better.

I ended up with a wood elf vengeance paladin, strength based. In retrospect, I wish I'd known that Dex paladins could be a thing - because that would have made more sense. But here we are.

Stats are as follows:
Str 15 Dex 13 Con 13 Int 8 Wis 10 Cha 15
DM is running a no-feat game

I've been interested in multi-classing into Hexblade for a few reasons:
1) Ranged attacks with EB
2) Them short rest slots
3) It actually fits pretty well, thematically, with my character
4) Fjord does make it look pretty cool

I'm currently at Paladin Lvl 3, and as we're about 300 xp from Lvl 4 going into this Friday's session, I'm trying to figure out my best move forward. I'd really appreciate it if some of your more experienced folks would lend some advice!

In my mind, I've got 2 main options:

1) Make the move over to Hexblade now. Perhaps it would have been better at Lvl 2, but I didn't. This would give me Hex, cantrips & another spell slot. Hex warrior wouldn't do much for me at this stage, since my Str = Cha.

2)Continue on with Paladin up through level 6, to get the extra attack and Aura of Protection. At this rate, I imagine that will happen some time next year... After that, move into Hexblade and devote the next several Lvl up's to that. I'm leaning in this direction.