PDA

View Full Version : Ranking/Titles for the Dead

GuestEleven
2018-09-25, 09:40 AM
Hey fellas. I am starting a new campaign this weekend(I'm fairly new to DMing) and I was wanting help/suggestions. I had the players vote for a storyline to follow and they picked the Undead Army. What I am wanting to do is set up a rank and title system since it is very much a military. I was wanting to stay away from traditional titles such as General or Lieutenant and make some of my own titles that would seem more ominous. Sadly I have hit a bit of writer's block on it.

I'll give a bit of background information so that you will know the types of beings you'd find in this army. It consists of three factions: the Undead of course, beings/creatures from the forest, and the Clans from the north. Everyone from the forest is generally blight/rot spreaders, hexers, and witches. People from the north cover a huge swathe of character types. They were your traditional norsemen, but at some point in recent history their spirits had been denied access into their afterlife, so no more eternity of battle. Thus they have turned to necromancy as a means to fight eternally. Among their ranks are rangers, warriors, spiritualists and shamans.

Here is what I have came up with so far:

Necromancers: Necrolyte, Deathlord

Forest Blighters: Rotwarden

Northerners: Sage, Soul-seer

General: Slaughterlord(Warrior), Dreadmage(Caster)

I think it would be pretty cool trying to make a ranking and title system for each individual style, but I can't help to wonder if this is worth the work. Or maybe I should simplify it? Can't say for sure if my players will enjoy it, that's hard to say because everyone is different. Thanks in advance for sharing your thoughts and suggestions!

oudeis
2018-09-25, 02:26 PM