PDA

View Full Version : I'm a writer, what do I need to do to get into writing for RPG?

LordWarGod
2018-10-04, 06:42 AM
I'm writing an universe of my own and I've found that the RPG avenue might be the best place for my writing to excel after it was recommended by some writers I met. The problem is that I have little to no knowledge of what writing in RPG consists of, I have an understanding of what RPG is and what it entails but I don't understand what my role is as a writer.

How does it work? Do you pitch an idea and work with a game designer while you write the story?

I'm writing a fantasy history book centered around the universe I created and everything there is to know about it. It will feature classified top secret documents/audio transcripts, journals, diaries, biographies on important characters and scientific studies on demons/aliens which will be separated into categories. It seems like something that might be suited to the RPG world and people may enjoy role-playing with this sort of story/environment, so that's why people recommended me to RPG.

Thank you for reading and anything you decide to post will be appreciated.

(I had to repost this thread to this area after I realized it was posted in the wrong area, sorry!)

NichG
2018-10-04, 07:17 AM
I can't speak to how to go about writing RPGs professionally, but...

To my mind, the role of a creative writer in contributing to an RPG is to figure out what to write that will inspire creativity in others. For example, a lot of the Planescape materials tried to present the setting in terms of unresolved mysteries - each location or NPC would have text describing what the average person on the street might believe to be true of them, and often these would be mildly contradictory. Then, when a DM read that, it could give them ideas about how they might resolve that mystery by tying it with other things they had in mind.