PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Roguish Archetype: The Luchador

ZenBear
2018-10-07, 11:29 PM
I'm trying to come up with a custom subclass for one of my players' characters; Tortuga, the Tiefling Luchador. For a while now he's gotten by with just playing a bog standard Thief Rogue, bashing people with The Chair, making leaping tackles from out of nowhere, and occasionally pinning foes down. He's got both the Grappler and Tavern Brawler feats, and Expertise in Athletics, but I still don't feel like in-game he's getting to really live the full pro wrestler experience he wants to. So, homebrew subclass for the win! I need help though, because I'm not a pro wrestling fan so I don't know exactly what I need to include to construct that fantasy. I'm hoping the Playground will be of assistance. So here's what I've got so far:

Pro Grappler

Starting at 3rd level, whenever you are grappling an opponent you can use your Cunning Action to make a melee attack against the target.

Grappling Superiority

Maneuvers

You learn three special maneuvers. You can use only one maneuver per action.

You learn two additional maneuvers of your choice at 7th, 10th, and 15th level. Each time you learn new maneuvers, you can also replace one maneuver you know with a different one.

Superiority Dice

You start with four superiority dice, which are d8s, and you expend one whenever you use a maneuver. You regain them all when you finish a short or long rest.

You gain another superiority die at 7th level and one more at 15th level.

Saving Throws

Some of your maneuvers require your target to make a saving throw to resist the maneuver's effects. The saving throw DC is calculated as follows:

Maneuver save DC: 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Strength or Dexterity modifier (your choice)

Improved Grappling Superiority

When you reach 9th level, your superiority dice turn into d10. When you reach level 17, your dice turn into d12.

Relentless