PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Help with scaring my players

Harrysonford
2018-10-21, 11:27 AM
Hello, all! (Please excuse the large amount of text)
I’m relatively new to DMing and I may have run myself into a wall here. We aren’t doing a campaign, rather, we’re taking turns DMing a series of adventures that are loosely related.
I was the first to DM and I started everyone at lv 5. Halfway through they leveled up to lv 6, which made sense for the adventure I was running.
The problem is that I like to make my sessions creepy, but one PC has an ability that doesn’t allow for a sense of uncertainty. He’s playing a shadow sorcerer, and with his hound of ill omen ability, he always knows where a creature is after he encounters it (if he uses that ability). In the first session, I sort of had to BS it since the boss fled several times, and I had to keep the party on their toes. I said that since the boss was in it’s lair, it was hard to distinguish where exactly she was. The player did not like this, he was rather upset and I worry that I cannot do this again without ruining his build or the session.
Unfortunately, however, I wish to use another hit and run creature because of this specific creature’s lore and creep factor. What should I do to prevent this PC from using his hound on the creature?
Any input is appreciated:)

Unoriginal
2018-10-21, 11:32 AM
What is the boss?

sophontteks
2018-10-21, 11:39 AM
Sorcerers are pretty good at foiling a good DM plan. I wouldn't try to get around the hound, he's paying a lot for that hound and its one of his premier abilities.

Treantmonk
2018-10-21, 12:18 PM
Honestly, the best way to scare your players doesn't involve game mechanics at all. Turn down the lights. Maybe light a candle. Play some creepy background music. Take your time to describe the creepy details of the environment and the creature. Here's the big one, that sounds obvious, but is often overlooked: TELL THE PLAYERS THAT THEIR CHARACTERS ARE SCARED!