PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Help a newbie DM for a fair challenge

~Mozza
2018-10-25, 12:06 PM
Hi all, in a couple of week I'll be a DM for a session in a sandbox campagin in the Darkmoon Vale on Golarion. I'm no expert at DMing, and I find problems in putting some fun and most of all, fair battles. There will be 3 battles at minimum, one is the boss and it's really good as it is, but I ask for some help on the first two.

First of all, the party: not so optimized, 5-man lvl6 party
1) pyrocinetic: lots of hp, good blasting potential, ranged
2) cleric of sarenrae: good AC, bit more optimized, use ranged spells and sword
3) gunslinger-ranger: homeruled class, not so powerful at all, ranged
4) slayer: basically the only one melee, fights well only when flanking
5) the current DM oneshot PC, don't know what it is

The first battle will be a random encounter: what CR will be optimal?
I thought of two or three CR 7 creature or one powerful CR 9. Based on what's best I'll decide what monster I'll be using

The second is a monk 1 / martial artist X NPC: a samurai with a katana that uses a combination of flurry of blows katana/unarmed strike that will not fight to the death or to the death of the PCs.
What level is adequate?

Thanks all for the time spent reading, and maybe answering :)

Geddy2112
2018-10-25, 12:35 PM
As a rule of thumb, you generally want several weaker enemies vs one strong one. A strong single enemy is either overwhelmed easily by the party through action economy, or is so powerful they simply annihilate the party. A single monster gets one turn, but your party has 5-throwing straight dice the party usually wins, but this is before they buff or do other things that benefit them exponentially vs the monster's linear scaling. Single monsters are also far more vulnerable to a save or lose/save or die. Your cleric needs to land just one of these and the encounter is over.