PDA

View Full Version : Cloistered Cleric - Knowledge, healing build help needed

Ozzie831
2018-10-25, 10:11 PM
Hey everyone,

So I posted on here not too long ago looking for help picking out a build for my 3.5 D&D group. I have decided that Id go with a knowledge/healer build with the Cloistered Cleric. My group has no healers, I think the only healing thing we have is 1 wand of cure light wounds..... But the problem is that I have no experience with clerics at all. So if anyone could help me out. That would be great.

If I am not mistaken, Cloistered Clerics get the Knowledge domain for free, which is sweet because I basically want to make him a knowledge skill monkey that heals my party. Since I get that domain for free, this leaves me with 2 open domain slots. I was thinking Healing for one slot and the other Im pretty open.

I have no clue how to build this guy. Even when it comes to the race. But I was eyeballing the Changeling for Able learner, Whisper gnome (for the funsies and darkvision...My dm likes dark areas), or a Warforged for all the immunities and other bonuses.

Again any help would be awesome. I will also be happy to answer any questions.

Troacctid
2018-10-25, 11:32 PM
You don't really need much more than that wand. In-combat healing is a bit underpowered in this edition. For most parties, it's better to focus on taking the enemies out of action as quick as possible and wait until after the fight to heal back to full with wands (although lesser vigor is usually better for that than cure light wounds).

If you do want to heal, one of the most effective ways to do it is by using mass lesser vigor with the Persistent Spell metamagic feat from Complete Arcane. That'll give always-on fast healing to your whole party. Just be an illumian (Races of Destiny) with the naenhoon sigils—that'll let you expend six uses of turn undead to apply the metamagic for free.