PDA

View Full Version : Swift Hunter build help

Jforjeff
2018-11-17, 08:47 AM
Hey guys, I’m getting ready to start a campaign in a few hours and I’m considering going scout 4 / ranged 26 and being an archer. I’ve read the swift hunter handbook but it doesn’t offer much build advice as far as level order is concerned.

What is the best level order for this character? Is it better to level more as ranger or scout? I know this is going to sound dumb but I’m still kind of new to the rules. What ways can the character move 10+ feet and still attack in the same turn?

Also, I know cloistered cleric is a strong dip for the class. Is it possible to play the character and still be strong without the cleric dip? Can you still get the travel devotion feat without going cleric?

What are your suggested feats?

I’m sorry asking a lot of questions. The game starts in a few hours and I’m stressing out about choosing a character.

DeTess
2018-11-17, 09:03 AM
You can take travel devotion without being a cleric, but in that case you can't spend turn undead attempts to power it more often than 1/day. In addition to this feat, you could take martial study to get the 'sudden leap' maneuver (both feat and maneuver from Tome of Battle). This would allow you to once per fight take a swift action to make a jump check and move the indicated distance. There's also several items, such as the anklet of translocation, that would allow for swift action movement.

As for whether your build will be strong without a cleric dip, it really depends on your table. There are tables where even with the dip you'd be outclassed, and there are tables where even without the dip you're one of the strongest builds.

For further feat recommendations it'd be nice to know whether you're going TWF or ranged.

DrMotives
2018-11-17, 09:06 AM