PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Warlock bard build advice -- new player

Shonuff
2018-11-27, 08:03 PM
I'm completely new to 5E, but I dabbled a bit with 3e & 4e, and played 2e extensively. We are still setting up the campaign: players (maybe 4 PCs?) classes, etc. I know one player wants to be a nuker of some sort.

I am planning on building more of a support, face character and decided to build (eventually) a 17 hex blade tomelock/3 lore bard. I figured the versatility of the skills and spells would make up for the Eldritch Master, ASI, known spell, and Invocation.

Now for the questions:

1. Is this feasible? I admit I'm new, so does something about this scream bad idea? Keep in mind I'm playing with a bunch of new RPG players, so upper levels are questionable.

2. Assuming it's a decent idea, would it be better to start level 1 as a bard or a warlock? Basically, is it better to have a Wisdom save and one musical instrument, or Dexterity and three musical instrument skills? I'm leaning towards the Wisdom, but I don't know how necessary musical instrument proficiency is.

3. What are good choices for instruments? Is it merely cosmetic? Lutes, harps, horns the most common?

4. Again assuming 17/3 warlock-bard is decent, what would be a good progression? I was thinking knocking bard out relatively early.

Thanks in advance. Any advice is appreciated.

sophontteks
2018-11-27, 08:23 PM
If your new just play a single class. All the classes are really solid and you won't be disappointed. 5e did something really really well here. Any player can play any one class and expect to have a very solid and fun character from level 1 all the way through level 20. Multiclassing isn't bad, but it can screw you if you aren't experienced, and this can really ruin your experience before you give the game a chance.