PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Help with creating a background story

caoshunter22
2018-12-07, 02:12 PM
I'm new to D&D and I'm roleplaying a Half-Elf cleric following the life domain and I'm just starting to make up my character's backstory. I want to have my character to have followed an evil god first. Then, circumstances I haven't thought up yet my character is forced flee from his fellow worshippers and finds a new beginning worshipping a god of the life domain. So I'm wondering lore wise what gods would make sense for my character to worship? Also, any tips or ideas that would help me create a background story for my character would be greatly appreciated.

Man_Over_Game
2018-12-07, 02:20 PM
Rather than trying to make a fitting plot first and the character second, identify what you want your character to do while you play them, and then build a background working backwards from there.

For instance, say...

He collects notes of people without their notice on his journals.
He really enjoys rich, flavorful food.
He doesn't truly understand humor, but he smiles to pretend he knows.
He is quick to help people in need, sometimes forcefully so.

From there, we can gather that your character is untrusting of people, but is quick to aid them, and he had a dark patch through life. Perhaps he was treated as a slave or a spy, convinced to worship a dark god in terrible conditions until he was freed by a Paladin order who exterminated the evil church. He was then taken in by a cleric, who he has since tried to emulate, but still has difficulty warming the hearts of others, and can't help but have the habit of expecting betrayal.

Make the character first. Imagine how he acts on a day-to-day basis. Then start to fill in why he does those actions, then start to fill in the history as to why those habits make sense.

Unoriginal
2018-12-07, 02:29 PM