PDA

View Full Version : Storm Kings Thunder: Help making changes

Tatertron
2018-12-09, 01:50 AM
Good evening all.

I am a bit new to forgotten realms and 5e in general. I'm looking for a bit of Lore and design advise.

Been reading a LOT about the setting, but its a BIG setting with a lot going on, and we're getting under way with the campaign so i'm not going to be an expert before we get knee deep.

We are 1 session in to Storm Kings Thunder. The players are about to get to the Dripping Caves. After that, I have decided to totally drop the entire section involving Zephyros. It's just a little to random, railroady, silly for my group of gamers, and my self, quite frankly.

However I know that he gives them some valuable information about the Ordning. So, to substitute, I've designed a brief encounter that will explain all that stuff.

So what I need now is some mini-quests to fill the journey from Nightstone to their chosen quest location, Bryn Shander, Goldenfields or Triboar. This will need to get them from Lvl 3-5 ish.

But, since they have spent so much time farting around in Nightstone ( killing Goblins, Killing Zhentarim, Killing Orks) and basically killing random crap to level up without much story, I really wanted these couple of levels to be eventful.

So here's a couple of Ideas I've had so far.

A War.
I wanted there to be a war backdrop that the players could get involved with if they wanted to. Basically, there's a huge hoard of orks, goblins, and whatever else will fight alongside their kind, that have gathered along the eastern boarders of the Waterdeep region. The mighty Lord Vengar has been tasked with raising an army to repel this threat. However, Vengar is secretly a devout follower of Bhaal and wants bloodshed no matter what. And the Ork leader Bloodfang, however brutal he may seem, is just trying to save his people.