PDA

View Full Version : [LARP] Bringing real-world musical skills into a LARP as flavour

richardj
2018-12-10, 10:05 AM
I'm a regular crew member with my LARP group in the UK, and I was recently prompted to create a recurring NPC 'bard' (read: musical NPC with few magical abilities) to add flavour to the world as well as to give me an easy 'chillout NPC' (this is our term for an NPC we can play just to go and interact with players without a need for a story point, in non-combat situations. For example, at the end of the day when no more encounters are scripted and you just want to find someone to have a drink with and RP).

As a musician, I'm excited about this, and would particularly love to bring my experience of Afro-Brazilian folkloric music in as part of the african-syncretic-inspired aspect of the game world. But, I'm not sure exactly how to do that - I usually play as part of a percussion group (samba band, capoeira bateria, other drumming groups) rather than alone. I've considered taking my berimbau (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berimbau) and singing some longer solo songs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HqGEHdNzBX4) I know from capoeira experience (many of the songs I know involve call-and-response, which isn't feasible when nobody knows the response). How can I make these (mostly)portuguese-language songs work as a musician-type character in an English-speaking group?

Does anybody have experience of bringing real-life skills into LARP (especially as crew), and could relate their thoughts and any tips? Does anybody have opinions as players, how this could be received? Thanks in advance!

ShneekeyTheLost
2018-12-10, 02:35 PM
Unfortunately, most LARPs explicitly don't rely on your actual skillset because typically LARPs are an escapist fantasy, where you can be all you can't be. So depending on the mechanics of your LARP, this probably isn't going to turn out well. But here's some thoughts: