PDA

View Full Version : Roleplaying Plea to DMs: Give backgrounds more functional weight

PhoenixPhyre
2018-12-22, 09:29 AM
I want to start by relating an experience I had that made me think. I was DMing a short one-shot at a charity gaming event. Most of the players were entirely new and they were using WotC pregen characters. In the opening scenario, they were attacked by bandits, who I described (as a matter of flavor more than anything) as being "former soldiers turned mercenary/bandits." After about a round of combat where the party was quite successful, one of the new players spoke up. She was playing a human fighter, with the soldier (officer) background. She asked "It says I was an officer. Can I try to order these former soldiers to surrender? After all, I'd know how to command troops."

There's nothing on the character sheet that gives a "soldiers can command others to surrender, make a X check..." mechanical button. But the fiction was clear, and made sense. So I let her try--Charisma (Intimidation) IIRC. She partially succeeded and several surrendered.

That made me think that we, as DMs, often don't give enough mechanical weight to backgrounds and backstories. Maybe for fear of munchkinry, maybe because we forget, maybe because it doesn't have a "rule" associated with it. But I think it would help tremendously with people feeling that they don't have anything to contribute out of combat. If that soldier background person knows tactics and can more easily (lower DC or advantage or even auto-success as appropriate) convince a king to send armies than the con-man bard who doesn't know the terminology, or if the acolyte rogue knows where to look for hidden things in that ruined temple (after all, seen one temple, seen them all), or the outlander barbarian knows the ways to convince tribal warriors not to attack (a more universal sign language, common taboos, etc), they're more useful even without explicit mechanics.