PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Solo play question from someone very new

acctingman
2019-01-04, 11:58 AM
Hello folks

I'm VERY new to D&D. I played WAY back in the day with AD&D. Haven't played any D&D since then (minus PC games). I don't have a group and actually do not have time for one. I'm a very addicted WW2 table top gamer and I'm in 2 groups right now. However, with that said, I miss D&D and I'm tired of PC games and I find the urge to move some mini's and chuck some dice.

A very good friend who runs a D&D game as the DM has a ton of those Pazio titles and I was thinking of playing some solo D&D at home.

I have a ton of D&D 5th Ed modules and was thinking of running a party through those. Obviously all I'm wanting to do is run through all the combat content. But, it got me thinking why don't I just use the various random dungeon creation tools out there?

So, this might be a silly request, but since I'm horribly new I'm asking the opinions of experienced D&D'ers. Would you run through a bunch of modules or would you just run the party through a series of random dungeons/encounters? If I go this route I could use my friends tiles. If I use the modules I'm thinking I'd have to print out all the maps via some sort of program (GIMP, PS, or something else) and that is a bit of a time sink and I'm not sure it would be worth it.

The ONLY positive I can see with using the modules over using random dungeons/encounters is the modules would offer some sort of "reading enjoyment". I do enjoy the storybook reading that some of the modules offer.

Also, can anyone recommend a site that creates random dungeons/encounters and places monsters/treasure, etc? I only know of donjon, but are there others?

Thanks for taking the time to read my ramblings and any advice you can offer.

Spriteless
2019-01-04, 05:06 PM