PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder Ring of Eloquence: Applies to written/reading as well as spoken languages?

Sutehp
2019-01-14, 01:15 AM
I just starting playing Pathfinder Society about a month ago and I'm still learning the ins and outs of the d20 system. For now though, I've just been doing research on playing my Lvl 8 Swashbuckler and I just came across a Youtube video claiming that a Ring of Eloquence with Ancient Azlanti, Thassilonian, Abyssal and Tien is ideal for Society Play. My question is: does this apply to written languages as well as spoken? The power gives the wearer the power "to speak and understand" four additional languages of the players choice. If dead languages like Ancient Azlanti and Thassilonian are going to be found mostly in written form in old tombs (as opposed to spoken), doesn't it make sense for the ring to be able to decipher written languages as well as spoken?

Has this question ever come up in any errata? There's no explanation of this at d20pfsrd under the Ring of Eloquence entry.

Particle_Man
2019-01-14, 01:54 AM
My 2 cents:

Pathfinder seems to distinguish "understand" from "read" in this spell:

https://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/c/comprehend-languages/

So it seems that "understand" only applies to spoken languages, paired iwth "speak", while "read" applies to written languages, paired with "write".

Sutehp
2019-01-14, 03:18 PM
I'm not so sure about that, Particle. The base spell for the creation of Ring of Eloquence is comprehend languages, which specifically does allow both reading and speaking of languages the user does not himself know. If the base spell does allow the reading of languages, why wouldn't a magic item based on that same spell allow it?