PDA

View Full Version : The Bonegarden

Hardy911
2019-01-21, 08:36 PM
Hey folks,

I've been playing D&D for a couple of years and after a long break I decided to pick up D&D 5e and as an oldschool 3.5 veteran I'm very happy with many aspects of the current system because overall it has become a lot easier to play and run. Some of the things still feel a little off, for example putting together tough challenges for my group, that consists of five players total. But that's not the whole point of this thread. What I`m actually wondering is if there are any DMs around who have run the Bonegarden module.

My starting questions are:

Did you use the whole module? I find the spaceship and the city below very confusing and decided to kick them out.

How did you handle encounters? I find the amount of encounters huge, in other words: life-threatening to a point that it might become a safe TPK.

How can I efficiently put together encounters that originate from 3.5 monsters? My biggest problem is transferring the encounters to 5e, because many things have changed.

Cheers,
Hardy

Son of A Lich!
2019-01-21, 09:10 PM
I've never ran modules before in my life, but I can understand the issues you are presenting here.

First things first - You should be aware of your party's typical DPR right? Like, the range of damage they're likely to do in a single round of combat?

If you have that, you can balance encounters by understanding how to make the action economy flow in their favor.

Lets say I have a party of 5 characters, and I know that they able to do about 80 (Minimum of 30, max of 100) points of damage in any one round (Before critical hits, resistances and such).