PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Advice for having one ability score at a 3

caoshunter22
2019-02-01, 12:16 PM
I'm still somewhat new to D&D and I'm planning to make my next character a Paladin following the oath of vengeance. However while rolling majority of the ability scores are good except one is a 3. I rolled 13,16,17,16,14,3. I don't want to cheat and say well I should re-roll because the 3 will make things difficult but I'm not sure what ability should get a 3. I'm planing to play as an Half-Orc but with one ability score that has to be a 3 would it be better to switch to a different race?

Man_Over_Game
2019-02-01, 12:20 PM
I'm still somewhat new to D&D and I'm planning to make my next character a Paladin following the oath of vengeance. However while rolling majority of the ability scores are good except one is a 3. I rolled 13,16,17,16,14,3. I don't want to cheat and say well I should re-roll because the 3 will make things difficult but I'm not sure what ability should get a 3. I'm planing to play as an Half-Orc but with one ability score that has to be a 3 would it be better to switch to a different race?

Rerolling from bad stats isn't cheating, unless your table tells you it is.

The best advice I can offer is find a concept you like and stick with it. Maybe be a caster with 3 Charisma and use Message because you're mute. Maybe you're a Sorcerer who's nearly blind and deaf with 3 Wisdom. Maybe you're a Druid who has an Intelligence of 3 and gets his advice from flowers and animals. Or a Monk who learned to harness Chi to get past his muscle disease (low strength).

nickl_2000
2019-02-01, 12:29 PM
So a Half Orc Paladin, that would give you

Str: 18
Dex:
Con: 18
Int:
Wis:
Chat: 16

Or something similar to that. Your dump stat could then be