PDA

View Full Version : Hi, im looking a way to improve my tanking.

GenxZ
2019-02-05, 10:02 AM
Hi, im new to this forum, but im glad that forums are still alive! (not being in one of this for like 10 years)

well, to the point. Im actually in a party that needs me to be more tanky.

atm im a level 2 Dragonborn Cleric, but im kinda new to D&D and i dont know were are the must have for tanking.

if you need more info about my char, feel free to ask.

thank you so much in advance.

PS. i have Dragonscale Husk and a Heavy Wood Shield. but idk about more feats or skills to help in combat.

Segev
2019-02-05, 10:21 AM
Okay, there are a couple of ways we can take "tanking." What I suspect you're asking for is how to survive while doing it better, but the other major direction to look is effectiveness in tanking. i.e., how well you keep the bruisers off your squishies. That latter is potentially, in some groups, handled by the DM just playing along and having the tank be the primary target. If not, then you'll want some battlefield control (either your own or your party mage's) that helps shape things so you're able to block a choke point, or make yourself hard to ignore.

But I'm sure we'll get more on that later, and my posting time is limited, so I'll focus on what I think you're asking for first: survivability.

First off, you're a cleric. You want the spell magic vestment (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/spells/magicVestment.htm). It's +1 to your AC for now, which isn't bad at low level, and it scales with level to a certain point. It also lasts an hour per level, so you can cast it before entering a dungeon and it will probably still be up for the majority of the crawl. It will make you harder to hit. As you level up, you'll want a Cloak of Resistance, as saves will be important. As a cleric, you've got good Fort and Will, but anything to bolster your Ref will be a godsend (pun intended).