PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Ideas for a 'Room of Silence'

DrGonzo1208
2019-02-11, 04:52 PM
Hi All!

I'm new to DM'ing, and ran my first session recently, which went pretty well. It was supposed to be a one-shot, but they got about half way through, so I'm doing a second/final session on it this week. It's mostly a puzzle dungeon, and I'm putting together some ideas for a couple of extra rooms, just in case they get through the stuff I already have too quickly.

I'd really like to do a 'room of silence' where the whole room is under the effects of the Silence spell, forcing the PCs to communicate in creative ways, but I can't think what would be the best puzzle/trap to give them in these conditions? Maybe something that would be obvious if you could hear it, or something that requires them to communicate with each other a lot...

If anyone has any cool ideas it would be very appreciated!

Thanks.

Rukelnikov
2019-02-11, 04:57 PM
I did a similar thing once, it was a puzzle inside a temple of Mystryl, and divine magic prevented players from talking about the puzzle. Thing was, the puzzle room was a hub conecting to many areas of the Temple, and depending which way you solved it which door it would open. When the first player figured it out, unadvertedly 3 players changed room, and the puzzle reseted, the other 3 players eventually replicated what the others did.

Callak_Remier
2019-02-11, 05:11 PM
In my 1st Wizard tower i created i had a Room of silence the walls and ceiling were mirrors.

DrGonzo1208
2019-02-11, 05:34 PM
Nice. I like the idea that they simply can't talk about the puzzle. Did they try to communicate in other ways at all?

@Callak, I've also been toying with a hall of mirrors idea, combining the two is very nice! What was the puzzle in yours?

Laserlight
2019-02-11, 05:59 PM
Have the Silence affect all the players but one. He can hear clues but has to communicate them to the rest without speaking.