PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Good encounters for a high level one-shot

MightyDuck
2019-02-14, 06:40 PM
I'm relatively new to DMing 5th edition and I haven't got any experience running higher level games, however, I've promised my friends that I'm going to be running a level 14 one-shot to celebrate the end of our most recent campaign. The party consists of 6 PCs; an ancestral guardian barbarian, revised beast master ranger, GOO warlock, Glamour bard, Storm sorcerer and necromancy wizard. All the players are relatively new and inexperienced, especially when it comes to higher levels of play, so I don't want to make things too hard for them but I'm having a hard time coming up with any encounters. I'm homebrewing the final boss of the adventure but I still need a mini-boss for the very start of the game, something intimidating and challenging but nothing too overwhelming, I then need some encounters, both combat and non, in-between that and the final boss. For context, the one-shot is taking place on an island full of escaped prisoners turned cultist, that have summoned various creatures to the island, so pretty much anything goes in terms of creatures. Any ideas or recommendations? Or should I just throw caution to the wind, take the leap and just try and go it alone?

Man_Over_Game
2019-02-14, 06:45 PM