PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Heroic Bloodline Sorcerer Balancing

th3g0dc0mp13x
2019-02-24, 03:56 PM
This is my first attempt at a homebrew subclass, I'm designing this to be dropped into my world where nearly every heroic figure from mythology used magic in some way shape or form. mechanically I'm trying to go for a spell caster who can sit in the front lines comfortably and mix melee with magic to rip apart their enemies. With this being a full caster I looked at the two closest versions to this and tried to find a similar balance to them i.e. bladsinger wizard and valor/sword bard.

Battlefield Presence
At first level, While you are concentrating on a Sorcerer spell that targets you; you gain a bonus to concentration saving throws equal to the spells level.

In addition you gain additional spells known. At each indicated sorcerer level, add the listed spells to your spells known. They do not count towards your spells known limit and they count as sorcerer spells for you.

1st: Heroism
3rd: Shadow Blade
5th: Haste
7th: Shadow of Moil
9th: Holy weapon

Bonus Proficiencies
At first level you gain proficiency with light armor, medium armor, and martial weapons.

Extra Attack
Beginning at 6th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.

Ghost Step
Starting at 14th level, Immediatly after you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can teleport up to 10 feet to an unoccupied space you can see.

Heroic Onslaught
Starting at 18th level when you reduce an enemy to 0 hp you can spend 1 sorcery point to use your ghost step and immediately make an additional attack as part of the same attack action. You can do this a maximum of three times per turn.

Battlefield Presence
At first level, While you are concentrating on a spell that targets you; you gain a bonus to concentration saving throws equal to the spells level.