PDA

View Full Version : Little Black Book of Curses (Side Quest)

Caylris
2019-03-01, 05:56 PM
First of all, I am a bit of a lurker and this is my first ever post. I have been DMing for about 6 months and run a homebrew setting. I am still learning and making mistakes but my players enjoy themselves.

So I am going to put into my campaign a character that had cursed a group of people. He isn't necessarily evil, but definitely not good. One of my players was cursed by him and would like the curse broken. All of the curses are stored in a magical item that when broken will release all the people from their curses. I would like help from this awesome community to come up with some of these curses for me, be they serious, whimsical or even a blessing in disguise. The reason I want help is my ideas all tend to head in the same direction, so I would like some uniqueness. This is the format I would like:

Name:

Race:

Reason they were cursed:

What the curse was:

What you think would happen should the curse be broken:

The details will then be placed into a book which will be with the object. The players can read it then decide if the risk of breaking said curses are worth breaking their own. The players character is quite impulsive and may opt to do it regardless or do it before reading the book.

For example (a curse that is a hidden blessing):

Name: Gwendolyn Erana

Race: Human

Why they were cursed: The wizard saw this woman and thought that she was so hideous that even the sight of her offended him greatly.

Details of the curse: Incredible beauty.

What happens when broken: Gwendolyns beauty fades and her original looks are restored, she loses her job in the main city as a model of the latest fashions and is attacked by her fans due to the deception.

They can be more serious than that though. I do want some stuff that may have negative impacts if the curses are broken. I really want my players to have to think whether or not it is WORTH breaking all the curses.