PDA

View Full Version : DM Help players wont step up

Torpin
2019-03-18, 12:03 PM
ive been dming for this group every monday except for 2 for the last 6 months, we switched to a new game in january, and no one is willing to take a turn DMing, one of my damn players doesnt even know her class, its all frustrating and no fun at this point, you know plus the uninspired time i put into prepping. So im ending it. Should I just message everyone and let them know we are cancelling , if so should i tell them why, or since i already put all the work into it enjoy the how pissy all of them get over a boss fight that will easily be a total party kill.

Vizzerdrix
2019-03-18, 12:09 PM
Depends on if you want to retain the group or not. If yes, tell them you are taking a break. If no, then what end brings you most joy?

frogglesmash
2019-03-18, 12:09 PM
Have you spoken with your players about any of this? If not, an open and honest discussion about any complaints, or criticisms any of you have should be the first step.

heavyfuel
2019-03-18, 12:14 PM
First things first. You started a new game in January, but no one wanted to DM. So... Who's DMing? I presume you are, but it's not clear from the story.

As for the player who doesn't know her class. Tell her to sit down and read the class. D&D isn't free form RPG, in fact, it's pretty much the opposite of it. There are a bunch of rules and you need to learn at least a few of them in order to play the game. If a person is unwilling to learn a rule set to play a game, D&D is not for them.

What about the other players? What are their problems? You say it's frustrating, but why?

Whatever you do, don't end on such a bitter note. Any DM can say "rocks fall, everyone dies". You can put a great wyrm red dragon to fight a party of level 5 characters and kill them all. This doesn't make you a good or even decent DM, it just shows how salty you are.

Torpin
2019-03-18, 12:27 PM