PDA

View Full Version : A DM Singing the Paladin Blues

dragonwings
2007-09-30, 07:24 PM
Alright ladies and gentlemen, I have a minor problem.

I'm a newbie DM who is DMing a gestalt game. My players are a Sorcerer/Ranger (sleuth-like guy; real good player) and a Paladin/Monk (borderline munchkin; :smallfrown: ) at level eight.

My dilemma is this: How do I trip up the Pally/Monk? He's immune to poisons and diseases (which I actually like using), I'm getting tired of just throwing monsters at him, and he has stupid high bouncing around skills. I considered jacking up the ECL of the monsters they were against yet again, but that'll just kill them. Oiy.

They're in a tower now and I'm considering tossing in some unhallowed ground. Any ideas/assistance/advice would be helpful.

Citizen Joe
2007-09-30, 07:27 PM
Have you tried NOT using combat? Try some non-combat quests. Riddles, puzzles, delivery quests. Stuff where fighting doesn't solve the problem.

Shas aia Toriia
2007-09-30, 07:32 PM
If poison doesn't work, don't use it. If monsters don't work, don't use them. Use puzzles, or better yet, a full spellcaster! :smallamused:

Saph
2007-09-30, 07:35 PM
Well, what's the goal?

Do you want them to have more difficult battles? If so, just increase the CR of encounters. Do you want the sorc/ranger to get to do more of the work? If so, pick enemies that the paladin/monk is weak against. Do you just want to scare them and stop them walking through everything? Then set something against them that they can't possibly beat but can outrun, and let it chase them for a bit.

When dealing with these things as a DM, you have to know exactly what you want to accomplish. Otherwise you'll probably end up making things harder for yourself.

- Saph

dragonwings
2007-09-30, 07:39 PM
Do you want the sorc/ranger to get to do more of the work? If so, pick enemies that the paladin/monk is weak against.