PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Low-level (sub 5) Wildly-powered-cerer + Sucklock + Ranger from teh Future questions

Ieet
2019-03-29, 07:43 AM
Hi,

Unfortunateley I am new to 5e, will experienced GM.
As I actually *like* rules, our sweet and awesome adventuring group is already meeting some Class-issues. Being fairly new to 5e (yea, old folks switch systems slowly) I do not feel ready to "house-rule" without first seeking advices.
In order to avoid early OP rules geeking we are currently only using Players Handbook (and DMG).

The campaign started at Level 1, now running at level 3 after some game sessions that gave alot of rules learning. I can highly recommend when switching to 5e to do this.

Wildly-powered-cerer
One of the most glaring issues was from the Sorcerer specialized in Wild Magic. First gaming session, he was just allowed to roll himself and that of course ended in close to a party wipe, dead NPCs, a blue Sorcie... you get the picture. Already here the quest turned from Campaign adventure, to CLeanup-Duty after own mess and care to avoid in future.
As DM I took over the rolling for the future. This of course asking for issues... Immedialteley he dont feel they happen enough, and want set rules for when instead of "DM rules and cheats if he want to secretly".
And Honetly, I would rather that the pain of keeping track of his class features is on his hands, instead of me needing to manage a part of his class.

Tides of Chaos is basically the one feature and good thing the class have, unless you consider the random effects in "Surges" for a good and positive thing that you want.
As described, arguments could be made that 1/20 on normal casts = Surges, to be rolled every cast. Very rare surges, on an 8 casts level 3.
But Tides of Chaos = "Please GM, I take advantage now and on next cast you Surge me!"
Seeing there are little risk in doing this, and Surges generally only do good stuff - why not...