PDA

View Full Version : How would more realistic rpg affect gameplay

Shuruke
2019-04-05, 09:20 AM
So I've been playing and dmin dnd since a few years before 5e (3.5 then 5e)

Something I've always wondered is how would a tabletop balanced around more realistic combat look

Something like each round being 30 seconds so that someone making 3+ attacks and movement etc isn't within a 6 second period

What do other table tops do instead of Intiative?

Things like making it so if a heavy armored person is knocked over and being grappled putting a blade through is much easier?

Reason I'm asking is in trying to make a homebrew rpg , but my experience in how they work is rather limited

So far I have that ability checks and etc are based off a 3d6 system

There's no attack rolls instead u roll damage against the armor class

No classes instead u pick features that cost points kinda like the heroes games

I'm just wondering what your opinions are on adding realism to rpg

I feel it personally can make things 3.5 tier complicated for sake of tons of rules , but is their an upside?

Rhedyn
2019-04-05, 09:54 AM
You need to read through GURPS 4e both the basic set and relevant tech level books.

It's also a 3d6 system

Shuruke
2019-04-05, 10:00 AM
You need to read through GURPS 4e both the basic set and relevant tech level books.

It's also a 3d6 system

Thanks! Is their free pdf?

Edit: Found it will look when home more in depth!! Thanks for help

sleepy hedgehog
2019-04-05, 10:03 AM
I feel like much of this comes down to what you consider realistic, and what you're willing to abstract away.
Since, there are lots of different parts you can make more realistic.
I think it would help it you had an example of what a fight in your system would look like.

Often, after a point, the more realistic you make something, the less exciting it is to play.
And it tends to work counter to the idea that the the players to make it through many fights, without dieing.