PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Help Creating Creature that Represents Anxiety

ev.ocation
2019-04-07, 05:04 PM
I want to create a character who's possessed by something and said thing will pretty much represent anxiety. I have really bad anxiety but my DnD buddies don't know and I want to have a simple way of expressing it. I wasn't sure how I could bring this idea into life. I've been playing DnD for almost two years now but I know that there's a lot more people who are experienced with homebrew than I am.

One main idea I had for this was that the creature who's doing the possessing can sometimes get two powerful and overwhelming and pretty much cause a "panic attack" where the character looses touch with reality for a few minutes.

John Out West
2019-04-07, 07:47 PM
If i were to describe anxiety, it would be Fear and Isolation. From how my friend describes his anxiety, there are some things he just cannot do. Whats worse, no one can help him get past it, causing isolation. (I eventually convinced him to see a doctor about it)

You didn't mention the system but i'm assuming its 5e. There are already rules for being Frightened, so that can save us some time. If we want the players to feel the fear, we would need some sort of terrible effect that makes approaching the creature extremely unnerving. People tend to be most afraid of the unknown; giving a name or prescribing a symptom will instantly reassure us, even if the name or symptom is terrible. I would, thereby, suggest that whatever the terrible effect is, it has an unknown quality to it.
If two players walked towards the creature, and one took 6 damage while the other became blind for one minute, the third player would be hesitant to see what the creature would do to them.

As for isolation, there's a few options. My first instinct is teleportation. The creature can transport their prey to its home dimension, where it can feast upon them in private. That being said, it can only affect one character.