PDA

View Full Version : "Why the Cool Kids Are Playing Dungeons & Dragons" - New York Times essay!

2D8HP
2019-04-08, 12:54 AM
From The New York Times today (https://www.nytimes.com/2019/04/06/opinion/sunday/dungeons-and-dragons.html):

"Why the Cool Kids Are Playing Dungeons & Dragons
Fighting the dragon queen Tiamat is a much more satisfying way to spend time with my friends than social media ever was.

By Annalee Newitz

Ms. Newitz is a science journalist and novelist.

I started playing Dungeons & Dragons right around the time I completely gave up on Facebook. It was a little less than a year ago, as the first stories broke about the Cambridge Analytica scandal. I was sick of the social media idea of friendship, defined as likes or shares or “X knows the same 50 people you know.” So when my friend Kate suggested we start a game of Dungeons & Dragons, I thought, “Yes, I’m going to get together with people face-to-face, without any hearting or retweeting, and we’re going to eat chips and fight those damn cultists who are trying to resurrect the evil, five-headed dragon queen Tiamat.”

Until then, I had played a little D&D as an adult, but I hadn’t joined a group that met regularly. But I am basically the target demographic for “Stranger Things.” Like the characters on that show, I played D&D in the 1980s with a group of geeky guys every day at lunch throughout the sixth grade, slaying vegepygmies in a crashed spaceship and meeting the great demon Lolth in her sticky transdimensional web.