PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Questions before I make a [Class]

DracoDei
2019-04-25, 11:36 AM
I am fairly new to 5e. In the campaign I am in we just hit 10th level. Since about 3rd level I have been playing a homebrew class I converted from my 3.x works.

One of the other players said he would like to see a full write-up of the class, but before I attempt that, I wanted to ask a few questions.

What do people mean when they say "ribbon" or "ribbon level"?

I have about seven different archetypes, including a few ones that I suspect are going to draw flak:
1.) One that in most campaigns is mechanically better suited for an NPC. The fluff is really good, it is just that most of the abilities you get aren't the most useful to an adventurer.
2.) One that only gives you defensive abilities. I created it because the 3.x versions have gotten some critique that the class would tend to get killed a lot, despite strong defense already being a theme for them. This opinion may have been a statistical outlier, but since it IS a theme, and all of these archetypes build on themes already present in the class, I thought it couldn't hurt to include one that built on that theme. It would also help newbies to the class, since a lot of their active abilities involve debuffing themselves in one way or another.

The question then becomes "Should i post it with all the archetypes I have written up first, only the ones I am fairly sure on the progression of, or limit it to only 3 at the start, so as not to overwhelm people?" Of course, I intend to post everything eventually (knowing me that might be "a week later", "a year later", or "the 32nd of Never").