PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder Help building a support character

RallinaTricolor
2019-04-28, 01:31 PM
Hello!

I'm relatively new to PF and joining a campaign my friend is starting in a few weeks. I've been playing/DMing 5e for about four years now so I have a pretty solid foundation of D&D mechanics, but I think I got to maybe level 4 (Oracle/Paladin) in the only other PF campaign I played. As such, I really don't have a solid understanding of the options available (both classes and feats) in PF and was hoping I could get some advice.

The kind of characters I like to play are generally support heavy: buffing/debuffing, healing, battlefield control, etc. and I'm fine with crazy number crunch and rules heavy combos being part of the characters I play. So far I had a couple of ideas for the upcoming game. Right now, I don't know how many players there will be or what classes they'll be playing, but I'm pretty confident that a support role will be something useful. As far as available material, my DM is pretty open to things, including third-party content. Starting at level 1.

1) Life Leech Sadist Vitalist. I like the Network effects and the class looks like it does really cool stuff with healing/buffs by augmenting the psionics to give them to allies as well as the Unwilling Participant being a cool way to deal damage in combat. My concern here is that this class looks like it could very quickly turn into a lot of attempts to force people into the network and just wasting turn after turn if they make their saves. The buffing/healing aspect is still there but I'm a bit worried that basically there will be certain combats where I just can't do anything interesting.