PDA

View Full Version : Cheap crafting Artificer - I need some input

MortalSword
2019-05-23, 04:18 PM
Good day GitP. I’m a returning player after taking a several year hiatus from the group I’ve been playing with for 20+ years due to family and work obligations. My time was stretched too thin. But now that I’m back I’m stunned at how much I’ve forgotten and my system mastery level has dropped down to nooblet.

I’ll be playing with a mid level Ranger and beastly Paladin of Heironeous. The Paladin also runs a small kingdom and has solo sessions of just Kingdom management (Pathfinder Ultimate Campaign) when the other guy can’t make it. I’ll be joining in when I can.

Currently my crafter is low level but can easily abuse NPC selling shennaigans with Apprentice, Mercantile background, and Exceptional/Legendary Artisan. I’ve agreed with the DM I won’t destroy the WBL “too” much. But I will divert excess funds to a military venture unit. Kinda sorta mercenaries or if the cause is right a supporting unit. Mostly as a support unit for the Paladins campaigns against Hextor

The plan is to use adventurers for this unit and I’m currently debating on what sorts of Magic items, Armor and weapon enhancements each class should have. I’m thinking a limit of about 20k GP market value per character should suffice but I can up that number if need be. Custom magic items are allowed following the formulas and subject to DM approval. Cheese is frowned upon for the most part so I’m trying to keep these within reasonable limits. The only 3rd Party content he’s allowed so far is the Laminated and Serrated features for weapons (Alderon)
The plan is to make “kits” for each class with the items, cost to craft and time to craft. Then when I get enough levels to craft new stuff or can afford upgrades I’ll adjust each kit and calculate the cost to upgrading current kits.