PDA

View Full Version : Wand use

Icewalker
2007-10-07, 12:54 AM
I found a rule recently, it was new to me as I am relatively new to 3.5 and I think it doesn't exist in 1st edition, which I have played more of...

Wands cannot be used unless the user has the spell on their spell list, or makes a DC 20 Use Magic Device check. This seems ridiculous. The idea I get from a wand is that people who couldn't otherwise cast the spell can use it. If it's just extra spell use for people who already can, or decided not to learn it but could, it seems like it should just be replaced by scrolls, as they function in a similar manner (except without 50 charges).

I am going to use a house rule that says either wands can be used by anyone, or it is possible to buy special wands that can be used by anyone which are at 2x cost.

Any comments on whether this sounds like a very bad idea?

JackMage666
2007-10-07, 01:06 AM
Kinda makes Use Magic Device less useful. It uses the same rules as Scrolls, as far as I know. I'm not a fan fo giving spells (even low level ones) to everyone, but it's your game.

Velvet Elvis
2007-10-07, 02:04 AM
Where do you get the idea that a wand is supposed to be usable by anyone? Wands are magic items made for and by 'magic-users' as a means of widening their ready options (for both prepared casters who are limited by their daily choices, and spontaneous casters who are usually limited to only a small part of their spell list throughout their career). Also, since using a wand doesn't cause an AoO, it can also be tactically advantageous in tight quarters.

Then there's the aspect of having a wand with a higher caster level than you can muster, which is a benefit in most cases.

And lest we forget, that allowing just anyone to use wands minimizes the unique abilities of the natural casters of those spells. UMD, as mentioned, is also marginalized as an important skill.