PDA

View Full Version : Prestige Classes as substitute for core Fighter

Mars Ultor
2019-06-21, 01:31 AM
I'm preparing to run an E6 campaign and I was thinking about what changes I should make to the core Fighter class. Since all the PCs gain additional feats and many class features are gained in the first six levels, Fighters have nothing going for them.

We usually play with only the core classes, although we did try the Book of 9 Swords classes at one point. No one could keep track of their maneuvers and there always seemed to be questions about something, I found it too much trouble overall.

Then it occurred to me that some Prestige classes could be substituted for Fighter. Champion of Corellon Larethian, Dwarven Defender, Cavalier, or Purple Dragon Knight, and others seem like they might work as substitutes, has anyone ever tried running them as regular classes?

I have no experience with non-core Fighter-type classes like Knight, Swashbuckler, and Samurai, but I can't recall ever seeing any positive comments about them. Are any of them worthwhile as a substitute for a basic Fighter?

DrMotives
2019-06-21, 03:21 AM