PDA

View Full Version : Optimization Thinking about a melee-focused Sorlock build

ButzSanchez
2019-06-28, 08:37 PM
Hey all, longtime lurker, first time poster. I've gotten a lot of answers from these forums since I started playing 5E and decided it would be beneficial to join in and add to the conversation.

What I'm working on now is a build for a melee-focused Sorlock, and the big consideration I'm wrestling with now is what weapon to pick. Here's some details for stuff I've checked out myself.

First, I'm sticking to a dual class build. The DM I play with isn't fond of multiclassing beyond that. She's tolerant of the first multiclass without much explanation, but starts wanting story cues for anything more, which I feel is reasonable.

This will follow with the Hexblade warlock, pact of the blade boon (because of course, sorry to all the DM's shaking their fists at me right now) and Divine Soul sorcerer (for access to the cleric spell list). If you think something might work better, or provide a more interesting concept, lemme know. Also, race will be half elf with the elven accuracy feat, and with the way I'm building him he'll take at least 5 warlock levels to get thirsting blade so he can attack twice with the pact weapon, and likely trade an invocation for eldritch smite at the same time for fat nova damage. This build starts around level 7, but also considers the next few levels of advancement.

The idea for the build is to get as many advantage rolls as possible for as many crits as possible while having access to spells. I'm a sucker for melee-caster hybrids. The downside I'm seeing thus far is the heavy focus in combat specialty also means a lack of versatility in roleplaying and utility abilities/spells, and if your DM is picky about how you cast spells, you end up needing another feat to take Warcaster (a three feat build reduces overall stats, so you're pretty much stuck with what you got at the start).