PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Internal Crisis

Allistar
2019-07-17, 07:28 AM
I'm really not sure what to do here. I've been Dming for upwards of 3 years now, but I think I've finally hit that point where I get unsure about everything I've ever done. This has happened a couple of times before, but this time it really hit me hard.

Out of the 9 campaigns I've run everyone has said they've been having fun, references get thrown around here and there, but when I look back I just feel empty. My worldbuilding is incomplete, my games are improv or spur of the moment, I can't immerse my players, my campaigns peter out, and so much more. I know that I can do better because I have done better in the past, but now it feels like I can't do anything that hasn't been done before and done in a better way. What can I bring to the table when things like Critical Role, or the Unexpecables exist. What can I do that things like The Witcher, or Goblin Slayer, or any other piece of media has done leaps and bounds better than I ever could. How can I do anything that could even attempt to match that. I feel like I've degraded, that my games are terrible, and that I should just quit the hobby entirely. 3 years I've wasted and I feel awful about all but 1 campaign, 3 years I have tried and failed to give my players anything that wasn't just a meme. I've wanted to reach that next level and for the last year and a half I think I've wasted my time, and that I shouldn't waste any more.

So how do you do it? What keeps you going? What is your light at the end of the tunnel? Why do you DM?

nickl_2000
2019-07-17, 07:47 AM
Okay, some things I will say on here.

Your players said they had fun, that and you having fun is pretty much all that matters. Don't compare yourself to critical roll and others, play your game and your players game and go on from there.