PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Poison Extraction Rules

Zazamori
2019-08-10, 08:31 PM
I'm relatively new to D&D as whole, but I'm quickly discovering homebrewing is one of the most entertaining aspects of the game for me. I like to find holes the official material left wanting & fill them. However, given my inexperience, I am often quite worried about balance. I suspect I may have a tendency to over-do things. I also may not have adept enough lore knowledge or even creativity for flary flavor text. Feedback & suggestions are definitely appreciated.

My main character lately has a thing for poisons. He really like to milk the devil's utters. Like everyone else, I've realized the official rules for crafting poisons are, ahem, not there. I've found numerous fantastic homebrews that fill in that blank as far as brewing poisons from plant ingredients is concerned. However, I also find the official rules for extracting creature poisons to be limiting & difficult to work with; a comprehensive guide for fixing that seems more elusive.

To recap: As far as I'm aware, the only official rules for extracting & using extracted poisons are basically:
1) DC 20 Int (Nature) check for all extractions
The venomous creature from which the poison is being extracted must be incapacitated or recently deceased.
Can add Poisoner's Kit proficiency if lacking Nature proficiency.
I believe there's an optional rule (I think in XGtE?) that states to take advantage if you have proficiency with both a relevant skill & relevant tool for the same check, which could easily be considered here.
2) Produces a single dose on success, none on failure.
Poisons the character attempting the extraction if failed by 5 or more
XGtE Poisoner's Kit description vaguely suggests that having the kit may mean you won't accidently poison yourself on a -5 failure, but debatably only means you won't poison yourself when using poisons you've already placed in vials. I find the latter interpretation more fun.