PDA

View Full Version : My DM got mad at me for the naming of my familiar ?

ngilop
2019-08-12, 09:10 AM
So.. I just thought I would pass on this tory that I find actually funny but also sad in a way.

I started a new campaign and wanted to play a caster of some sort. I was looking through Ultimate magic (Oh yeah, this is a pathfinder game) and re-discovered you can have a goat as a familiar. Outloud during character creation I said 'oh sweet I can have a goat"

People laughed because just the session before the conversation during our game (the previous campaign) somehow moved to the time I dressed up as a mountain goat in class for a presentation.

So I made my character, and as per usual the DM looked over our sheets to see if anything was not jiving with the laid out campaign idea. Nothing was said and so I thought it all good.

But, when I started playing the game it came time to call my familiar over to me for something or other and the DM's response was 'WHAT! No, you cannot name your familiar that" The other players were laughing and totally loved it, but the DM would not be budged.

I guess one of the other players must have had a talk with the DM, or the DM snapped back to being a non-full crazy human and the next session let me know Tom Brady could still be named Tom Brady.

It is actually a bit difficult to play a goat as a familair becuase unlike a cat, hedgehog, or turtle they be noisy. and i just don't mean when they are vocalizing but walking/prancing/running half sideways. My wizard got a lot of weird looks with this hyperactive noisy little animal following after him in town and there was no 'lets all sneak past the orcs in this cave' because hooves on rock are not quiet, but at least he could climb like a pro.

Willie the Duck
2019-08-12, 09:23 AM