PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Dragon's Soul Homebrew Class Review

TheClaimer
2019-08-16, 11:26 PM
Hello All!

This is my first attempt at making a homebrew class. I don't have the fluff for it written up yet, but it's a racial class for Dragonborn with particularly potent dragon heritage. Please review and let me know what you think, if it's too OP in some places or what modifications I can make. Please be constructive.

Thanks so much for your time and comments!

version 0.3 updated based of feedback recieved so far is live here please review when you have a chance. Let me know if you think I've over corrected on the breath weapon upgrades.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8GDuPMMcWroQVdNQjdYMUlEbWtzVjNoclVOdlNBN 1FNMHNv

Bjarkmundur
2019-08-17, 08:16 AM
This is the class I didn't know I wanted, but definitely needed.
I'm not good at balancing classes, but I can point out a few things that immediately jump out at me. Hopefully you get more detailed analyzes from someone more used to balancing classes than me.

Unarmored Defense: I don't know why it is, but isn't this normally a 2nd level feature? I'm just assuming the developers set that precedent for a reason.

Sharp Claws: The phrasing is non-standard, but very clear. Do your claws have the light property? I think you could reword this feature, to make it just a bit clearer and easy-to-read.

Draconic Evolution: 26 words before the first period is not good writing. I have a feeling this is going to be a theme. It's easier to introduce 3rd party content to a player if the format is familiar to what he is used to. Please look at existing features to make it sound like it all came from the same source. This feature, for example, could use the exact same phrasing as invocations. Replacing evolutions also sound weird. There's precedent for permanent choices with cantrips. I think you should implement that here.