PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Buffs in 5th edition as fire-and-forget

Deepbluediver
2019-08-19, 07:56 PM
I tend to be wordy in my posts; if you want to skip the rambling intro, feel free. It just gets into where I'm coming from.

So about a year ago I started playing my first 5th edition game. Up until that point I'd been a solid 3.5-person (never had the chance to play 4th); that's where all of my experience playing and 'brewing was for. I'm liking 5th edition, I think it does a solid improvement on a lot of issues that 3.5 had, but inevitably I can't help comparing the two.

One area in particular that there's significant differences is in the area of magical buffs. Now, I admit that in 3.5 you could have a large swing in power between a buffed and unbuffed party, and that tracking multiple buffs could be kind of a pain. To resolve this issue in 5th, WotC seems to have made nearly every buff-spell concentration-based, and added that rule that you can lose your concentration if you take damage.

My first character was a Druid, and I like how the magic rules work for damaging spells like Call Lightning, Moonbeam, Flaming Sphere, etc. For most of those it feels like I'm doing something significant every round, and so I was perfectly willing to burn an ASI on the Warcaster feat to make sure I could keep concentration. But it also means that there's a lot of buffs (and some CC) that are going largely unused from my spell list.
And now I've started a second game where I'm a...well actually I'm a multi-class mess but I've got both Paladin and Bard spellcasting, and I'm probably going to be in melee-range even more and I don't really want to spend my ASI's on Warcaster. So I find myself in a situation where I'm actively avoiding EVERYTHING with a concentration-based component, and I'm not sure that's what the designers intended.